Kukusan assemblyman announces leaving Warisan

05 Jun 2022 05:13pm
Rina hands over the membership form to Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah President Tan Sri Liew Yun Fah at a press conference in Kota Kinabalu today.
Rina hands over the membership form to Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah President Tan Sri Liew Yun Fah at a press conference in Kota Kinabalu today.

KOTA KINABALU - Kukusan State Assemblywoman Rina Jainal announces her departure from Warisan on Sunday.

She made the announcement in a press conference at a hotel here and also informed that she joined Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah (Harapan Rakyat).

She said there were three important announcements that she wanted to share with all parties in the press conference.

“I announce my resignation from all positions in Warisan including Sabah Deputy Chief Wirawati and Kalabakan Division Chief Wirawati with immediate effect.

"Secondly, with a heavy heart, I also made the declaration to leave the Warisan party effective today after more than five years of fighting in it, starting from the grassroots to the State Legislative Assembly.

"I am joining Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah effective today and will carry the party leadership under Tan Sri Liew Yun Fah (President) to continue to serve the people," she said.

When asked why she chose a small party which was not part of the government, she admitted that she had never planned and expected to join Harapan Rakyat.

“I think this is the plan of the God, from the struggle that came from the late Datuk Seri Lajim Ukin who founded this party and was taken over by Tan Sri to revive it, and after we discussed about it he thought that this party can fight for the fate of the people of Tawau.

Related Articles:

“The reason I chose this party is because the focus is on working to serve the community in the Tawau area, so I am very eager to focus on the people in my area, especially in Kukusan.

"I don't have to think about what's happening now, with the fight for power and everything. I just want to think about focusing on working for the people," she said.

Asked further whether the fight in Warisan was no longer in line with what she stands for, she said that the party’s fight remained the same for the sake of the people but she declined to comment further on it.

Rina is the sixth Warisan State Assemblymen to leave Warisan.

The five Warisan assemblymen who has left the party are Sebatik assemblyman Hassan A Gani Pg Amir; Sindumin assemblyman Datuk Dr Yusof Yaacob; Lahad Datu Parliament Member and Segama assemblyman Datuk Mohamaddin Ketapi; Melalap assemblyman Datuk Peter Anthony and Limbahau assemblyman Datuk Nuil Juatim.

Currently, Mohamaddin and Hassan joined Bersatu while Dr Yusof joined Umno last May.

Meanwhile, Peter and Juil formed a Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) new government-friendly party, Parti Kesejahteraan Demokratik Masyarakat (KDM).

After the six Warisan assemblymen left the party, Warisan now has 18 state assembly seats, including two former DAP assemblymen who also joined the party.

More Like This