GE15: Kelantan PN to field six new faces’ Nik Abduh not contesting

03 Nov 2022 01:06am
No Image Caption

KOTA BHARU - Kelantan Perikatan Nasional (PN) tonight announced six new faces among its line up of parliamentary candidates for the 15th General Election (GE15).

Kelantan PN chairman, Datuk Ahmad Yakob, said that four new faces to be fielded were from Bersatu, namely, Major General (Rtd) Datuk Khlir Mohd Nor (Ketereh), Wan Ahmad Fasyhal Wan Kamal (Machang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli) and Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang).

The two other new faces are from PAS, namely, Datuk Mumtaz Md Nawi (Tumpat) and Mohd Syahir Che Sulaiman (Bachok).

"We are also retaining seven incumbents from PAS including Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan (Kota Bharu), Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man (Kubang Kerian) and Ahmad Fadhli Shaary (Pasir Mas).

"The incumbent from Bersatu, Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisyam Abdul Aziz, for the Tanah Merah parliamentary seat is also retained,” he said when speaking at the announcement of the Kelantan GE15 candidates at the Sultan Muhammad IV Stadium here.

Meanwhile, Nik Mohamad Abduh Nik Abdul Aziz and Datuk Che Abdullah Mat Nawi, incumbents for Bachok and Tumpat parliamentary seats respectively, were not named as PN candidates this time.

PAS deputy president, Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, said that the party's action in not nominating incumbent Nik Mohamad Abduh was not to kill the legacy of his father, the late Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat.

Tuan Ibrahim stressed that he (Nik Mohamad Abduh) voluntarily wanted to give his seat to another candidate, while Che Abdullah was dropped because he did not pass the Shura Ulamak Majlis vetting.

Related Articles:

"We are not excluding Nik Abduh, on the contrary, we are fielding young candidates and there is no issue of killing the legacy of the late Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz, because this struggle is not because of individuals but rather the policies that we want to fight for,” he said.

Following is the list of Kelantan PN GE15 candidates:

P019 Tumpat - Datuk Mumtaz Md Nawi (PN-PAS)

P020 Pengkalan Chepa - Datuk Ahmad Marzuk Shaary (PN-PAS)

P021 Kota Bharu - Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan (PN-PAS)

P022 Pasir Mas - Ahmad Fadhli Shaary (PN-PAS)

P023 Rantau Panjang - Datuk Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff (PN-PAS)

P024 Kubang Kerian - Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man (PN-PAS)

P025 Bachok - Mohd Syahir Che Sulaiman (PN-PAS)

P026 Ketereh - Mejar Jeneral (B) Datuk Khlir Mohd Nor (PN-Bersatu)

P027 Tanah Merah - Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisyam Abdul Aziz (PN-Bersatu)

P028 Pasir Puteh - Datuk Dr Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh (PN-PAS)

P029 Machang - Wan Ahmad Fasyhal Wan Kamal (PN-Bersatu)

P030 Jeli - Zahari Kechik (PN-Bersatu)

P031 Kuala Krai - Abdul Latiff Abdul Rahman (PN-PAS)

P032 Gua Musang - Datuk Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (PN-Bersatu) - BERNAMA