GE15: Labuan PN unveils seven-point manifesto with focus on development

11 Nov 2022 09:02am
Labuan Perikatan Nasional (PN) - BERNAMA
Labuan Perikatan Nasional (PN) - BERNAMA
LABUAN - Labuan Perikatan Nasional (PN) has unveiled a seven-point manifesto for the 15th general election (GE15), with a focus on boosting the island’s economic development.

Labuan Bersatu division head Datuk Suhaili Abd Rahman said it would complement the coalition’s main manifesto launched at the federal level.

"We are looking at enhancing the Labuan International Business and Financial Centre to make it more competitive,” he said when launching the manifesto at the party’s command centre here tonight.

He said the first point was to revive the long-abandoned Labuan Halal Hub, which was initially designed to create employment and business opportunities for locals.

"Other points are to improve telecommunications and roads around the island, including in village areas,” he said.

Suhaili said locals would be given priority for job opportunities in Sabah’s government-linked company of Asian Supply Base Sdn Bhd (ASB) and efforts would be made for Labuan to truly live up to its status of a duty-free-island.

"People have been complaining about rising prices and limited goods in duty-free shops. We have only low prices for liquor and alcoholic drinks and chocolates while the rest are higher than those in non-duty-free towns,” he said.

The former two-term Labuan MP said the island’s tourism sector would also be given a boost with more attractive tourism facilities and products like a water theme park.

The party also pledged to look after the welfare of fishermen through various assistance schemes and to improve healthcare services and facilities.
Related Articles:

"There are still patients who have to travel to Kota Kinabalu for medical treatment and this involves higher costs,” he added.

Suhaili is involved in a six-cornered fight for the Labuan parliamentary seat against incumbent MP Datuk Rozman Isli of Parti Warisan, Datuk Bashir Alias (Barisan Nasional), Datuk Dr Ramli Tahir (Pakatan Harapan), Dayang Rusimah @ Raynie Datuk Mohd Din (Parti Bangsa Malaysia) and Datuk Seri Ramle Mat Daly (Parti Pejuang Tanah Air). - BERNAMA