Malaysia's new cabinet: PM to also serve as Finance Minister, with two DPMs

02 Dec 2022 08:35pm
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim showing the list of cabinet line-up for the unity government in a press conference in Putrajaya, today. - Photo: BERNAMA
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim showing the list of cabinet line-up for the unity government in a press conference in Putrajaya, today. - Photo: BERNAMA

SHAH ALAM - Newly minted Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim unveils his cabinet today, announcing that he will also be the Finance Minister in the new unity government.

In a press conference, he also announced two Deputy Prime Minister portfolios which will be held by Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof.

Zahid will also hold the post of Rural and Regional Development Minister while Fadhillah will also be the Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister.

The cabinet also comprised Transport Minister Anthony Loke, Agriculture and Food Industries Minister Mohamad Sabu, Minister in the Prime Minister Department (Economy) Rafizi Ramli, Housing and Local Government Minister Nga Kor Ming, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan and Works Minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi.

The others were Home Minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, International Trade and Industry Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz, Higher Education Minister: Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, Science and Technology Minister Chang Lih Kang, Women, Family and Community Development Minister Datuk Nancy Shukri, Domestic Trade and Cost of Living Minister Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub, Law and Institutional Reforms Minister Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said, Energy and Natural Resources Minister Nik Nazmi Ahmad, and Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Minister Ewon Benedick.

Foreign Minister Datuk Zambry Abd Kadir, Tourism Minister Tiong King Sing, Communications and Digital Minister Fahmi Fadzil, Education Minister Fadhlina Sidek, National Unity Minister Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang, Religious Affairs Minister Datuk Mohd Nai'm Mokhtar, Youth and Sports Minister Hannah Yeoh, Health Minister Dr Zaliha Mustafa, Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Sabah Sarawak) Armizan Mohd Ali and Human Resources Minister V.Sivakumar were also named in the list of cabinet.

The announcement of the cabinet line-up, which was held in Putrajaya at 8.20pm, was broadcast live through local television stations and social media platforms.

Anwar announced a total of 28 ministers and the swearing-in ceremony will take place at Istana Negara at 3pm, tomorrow (Saturday).

Related Articles:

However, there were no Special Functions Minister post like in the previous cabinet.

Meanwhile, Tengku Zafrul, Saifuddin, Zambry and Mohd Na’im will be appointed as senators in the new cabinet.

This was after they lost in the 15th General Election (GE15), while Mohd Na’im was the Chief Syariah Court Judge.

After announcing the list, Anwar said he was actually disinclined to hold the portfolio of Finance Minister, but he wished to initiate the approach and policy to restore confidence in the economy for local businesses as well as foreign investors.

“I think let me continue (to be Finance Minister) at the initial stage with the help of a formidable team whether the Treasury secretary-general, civil servants as well as advisors who will not burden the government’s finances,” he said.

He said a team of advisors led by Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas) former president and chief executive officer Tan Sri Mohd Hassan Marican will help the government on matters related to finances in the country.

The announcement of Deputy Ministers will be made at a later date, he said.

On the cabinet line-up, Anwar said ministers under the unity government must prioritise good governance when carrying out their duties adding that they also need to avoid wastage and focus instead on implementing initiatives that could alleviate people’s burden

The cabinet was formed after Anwar was sworn in as the 10th Prime Minister last week after GE15.

He led a unity government comprising Pakatan Harapan which has 82 seats, Barisan Nasional (30 seats), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (23), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (six) and other parties.

More Like This