Former foes, PH and BN are now on the same bloc in Parliament

19 Dec 2022 09:27am
The seating chart for MPs from the government bloc in Dewan Rakyat.
The seating chart for MPs from the government bloc in Dewan Rakyat.

KUALA LUMPUR - The Malaysians political landscape have witnessed a number of surprises post-15th General Election including the key formation of the Unity Government.

The first session of the first of the 15th Parliament proceeding opens today and has etched itself in the history books when members of the Dewan Rakyat from Pakatan Harapan (PH) and Barisan Nasional (BN) are now aligned in one block.

The change of seats of the MPs from the two coalitions that have been enemies for decades happened following the cooperation to form a new government.

It is true as they say, there are no permanent enemies and no loyal friends in politics but only negotiation.

Today’s Dewan Rakyat proceeding will also see PH Chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who is also Tambun MP, and BN Chairman and Bagan Datuk MP Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi sitting side by side.

Another historical moment is BN and DAP, once sworn enemies and shouting partners, are to sit side by side now.

In addition to PH and BN, the new government is also made up of three other main political coalitions namely Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) and Parti Warisan (Warisan).

The session’s curtain raiser today will also be the first test of the integrity of the Unity Government in the Dewan Rakyat.

Related Articles:

The tabling of the vote of confidence motion for the legitimacy of Anwar's appointment as Prime Minister is one of the most eye-catching in the two-day sitting.

Based on the Standing Orders of the Dewan Rakyat, the motion for a vote of confidence in Anwar's leadership was ranked eighth in the agenda of the meeting.

The motion aims to prove that Anwar has the majority support after no party or political coalition got a simple majority in GE15.

Anwar had previously expressed his confidence in getting two-thirds of the vote of confidence.

With a total of 144 elected representatives from five political coalitions in the Unity Government, plus the support of four Bersatu MPs who left the party and the support of Independent candidates, Anwar is seen to be able to pass the vote of confidence easily.

Another matter that was also the focus of today's meeting was the election of a new Speaker for the Dewan Rakyat in order to replace Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun who vacated the position effective last night at midnight.

More Like This