Young Syefura plays pivotal role in Pelangai by-election campaign - Loke

10 Sep 2023 12:57pm
Anthony Loke.
Anthony Loke.

PUTRAJAYA – DAP is fully confident that the unity government will secure victory in the Pelangai by-election, all thanks to DAP Bentong MP Young Syefura Othman.

This was emphasised by the party's secretary-general, Anthony Loke Siew Fook during a press conference with members of the media at the DAP 2023 Annual Conference, currently taking place at the Marriott Hotel in Putrajaya.

The Pelangai state by-election was called following the tragic death of the incumbent, Datuk Seri Johari Harun, 53, who served as the state Local Government, Housing, Environment, and Technology Committee chairman, in a plane crash near Bandar Elmina in Shah Alam, Selangor, on Aug 17.

Loke elaborated that the Pelangai constituency, which falls under the Bentong MP seat, would be crucial in Pakatan Harapan (PH) campaign efforts and DAP wou;d undoubtedly mobilise its resources in the area.

The Election Commission (EC) has set the polling day for Oct 7, with early voting on Oct 3.

Additionally, he remarked that the recent victories in Pulai and Simpang Jeram had undoubtedly boosted the spirits of the unity government and the enthusiasm was set to resonate across the political landscape as the parties shifted their focus to the upcoming elections in Pelangai.

"It's clear to see that the Barisan Nasional machinery has also been diligently campaigning to secure votes in these areas, and the result has been a resounding victory for our party.

"Furthermore, the momentum displayed by Johor's Chief Minister, Datuk Onn Hafiz Ghazi, in supporting PH candidates in Pulai and Simpang Jeram has been remarkable.

Related Articles:

“The strategic move aligns with DAP's plans and Pelangai is an Umno stronghold.

"Umno secured a comfortable victory in Pahang in the previous General Election, and we anticipate that this winning streak will continue in Pelangai," he said.

In the by-election, Suhaizan Kaiat, who is also Johor Amanah vice chairman won the Pulai parliamentary seat with a majority of 18,641 votes by defeating Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate Zulkifli Jaafar and Independent candidate Samsudin Mohamad Fauzi.

Meanwhile, in Simpang Jeram, PH’s Nazri Abdul Rahman was also leading the race with 3,300 votes ahead of PN’s Dr Mazri Yahya.

The DAP 2023 Annual Conference is making history as it is the first time that Barisan Nasional (BN) Chairman Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi attended the conference.

DAP Chairman Lim Guan Eng, DAP's organising secretary Steven Sim Chee Keong, BN secretary-general Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir, and Umno secretary-general Datuk Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki were seen at the conference.

PKR Vice-President Rafizi Ramli, Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari, and Deputy Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Minister, Senator Saraswathy Kandasami were also present.

Amanah president Datuk Seri Mohamad Sabu and Amanah deputy president Datuk Seri Mujahid Yusof Rawa were at the conference.

This was the first conference since the formation of the unity government after the 15th General Election (GE15) last year.