Fahmi explains psychology behind big guns contesting for PKR VP post

13 Apr 2022 11:45am
PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil faces 17 others for the vice-president's post
PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil faces 17 others for the vice-president's post

SHAH ALAM - Next month's PKR party polls comes after the infamous Sheraton Move which saw the sudden collapse of the elected Pakatan Harapan coalition.

It was one of the darkest days for PKR as 11 of its MPs jumped ship to Bersatu.

The party's number 2 post was left vacant after Datuk Seri Azmin Ali quit the party, the post is now being contested by PKR's Vice-President Rafizi Ramli and secretary-general Datuk Saifuddin Nasution.

Party communications director Fahmi Fadzil who is gunning for vice-president's post will be facing 17 others when the party holds its elections in May.

“Everyone has their perspectives on how best to strengthen and revitalise the party.

“This is a reaction to the 2018 elections and the infamous Sheraton Move. Some say the direction after the post-Sheraton move was not right, they felt changes were needed,” he told Sinar Daily.

On claims of "remnants" or supporters of the cartel after 11 MPs left the party, he said the reformist party was strong enough to overcome that.

“Yes, there were people part of the cartel, but are not with them anymore. Many could have left to join (Datuk Seri) Azmin Ali and Zuraida Kamaruddin, but they remained in the party,” he said.

Leading the list of candidates for the four posts of vice-president are Selangor Menteri Besar and state PKR chairman Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari and Negeri Sembilan Menteri Besar and state PKR chairman Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun.

Others in the list for the vice-president's post are incumbent Chang Lih Kang, Wanita PKR chief and Kuantan MP Fuziah Salleh, PKR chief organising secretary and Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad and former Perak PKR chief Farhash Wafa Salvador Rizal Mubarak.

Also in the fray are former Perak PKR deputy chairman MA Tinagaran, Kapar MP Datuk Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, Alor Setar MP Chan Ming Kai, former Kapar MP G Manivannan and Sentosa assemblyman G Gunaraj.

Related Articles:

Other candidates who have submitted their nomination forms are Terengganu PKR chairman Azan Ismail, former vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, former vice-head of PKR Youth S Thiban, Chuah assemblyman Datuk Michael Yek Diew Ching and Bukit Selambau assemblyman R Summugam.

Among the three incumbent vice-presidents, Tian Chua announced on March 27 that he would not be defending his post, Rafizi Ramli had offered himself for the deputy president’s post and Nurul Izzah Anwar resigned from the post in 2018.

More Like This