GE15: GRS-BN unveils 24 contesting candidates

02 Nov 2022 06:06pm
GRS-BN announces 24 candidates who will contest for GE15.
GRS-BN announces 24 candidates who will contest for GE15.

KOTA KINABALU - Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) and Barisan Nasional (BN) announce a total of 24 candidates who will contest for Parliamentary seats in the 15th General Election (GE15).

The announcements for both parties were made by Sabah BN Chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin and GRS Chairman Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor in the GE15 candidate announcement ceremony.

Bunk Moktar announced 11 candidates for the Parliamentary seats and one candidate for the Bugaya State Assembly (Dun) seat.

Hajiji meanwhile announced 13 candidates involving the parties under the coalition which comprised of Bersatu, Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) and Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR).

BN announced former Minister in Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan was appointed for the Kota Belud Parliamentary seat while three Sabah Cabinet ministers were maintained to defend their seats.

This includes Bung Moktar, who would defend his seat in Kinabatangan Parliament, Deputy Education Minister II Datuk Mohamad Alamin and Deputy Public Works Minister Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup who would defend their respective seats in Kimanis and Pensiangan Parliament.

BN put forward new candidates for the Sepanggar Parliament including Sabah Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Yakub Khan and Community Development and People's Welfare Minister Datuk Ir Shahelmey Yahya for the Sepanggar Parliamentary seat.

BN also named Beaufort Umno Wanita Division Chief Datuk Aminah Aching for the Beaufort Parliamentary seat, former Kemabong Assemblyman Jamawi Jaafar for the Tenom seat and the elected Assemblyman Datuk Suhaimi Nasir for the Libaran Parliamentary seat.

Related Articles:

Other candidates were Datin Maizatul Akmam Alwi for the Lahad Datu Parliamentary seat, Aslam Fadli Samsul Alang for the Kalabakn Parliamentary seat and the candidate for Bugaya Dun seat was Abdul Aziz Mohd Ibnu.

Meanwhile, GRS announced PBS President and Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs) Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili would defend the Kota Marudu Parliamentary seat and Star President and Sabah Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Dr Jeffrey Kitingan would defend the Keningau Parliamentary seat.

Deputy Home Minister II Datuk Jonathan Yasin would defend the Ranau Parliamentary seat.

Sabah's Assistant Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Joniston Bangkuai was named at the Tuaran Parliament, Assistant Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Ruddy Awah for the Kudat Parliament and Sabah Community Leaders Unit Director (UPPM) who was also a former Lumadan Assemblyman Datuk Matbali Musah for the Sipitang Parliamentary seat.

GRS also presented several new candidates, Yee Tsai Yiew for the Kota Kinabalu Parliamentary seat, Kenny Chua Teck Ho (Penampang), Senor Confidential Secretary for the Chief Minister Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali (Papar), Sabah Bersatu Information Chief Khairul Firdaus Akbar Khan (Batu Sapi), Lau Chi Keong (Sandakan) Semporna Bersatu Division Acting Chief Nixon Abdul Habi (Semporna) and Lo Su Fui (Tawau).

More Like This