KJ barely scrapes through as MNCF vice president

18 Feb 2023 05:03pm
Khairy Jamaluddin (left) with the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) - Instagram
Khairy Jamaluddin (left) with the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) - Instagram

SHAH ALAM - Former health minister Khairy Jamaluddin breathed a sigh of relief after securing the last spot for five vice presidents posts in the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) executive council elections today.

The news was shared today via a story post on his own Instagram account @khairykj. He posted a picture of him with the new executive council captioning, "Alhamdulillah voted in as one of the Vice Presidents of the Malaysian National Cycling Federation. Thank God I did not also lose this election too." In the MNCF executive committee election, Khairy who is Negeri Sembilan Cycling Association president received 33 votes earning him the fifth spot out of a 10-cornered contest.

Khairy, who is also a former Youth and Sports Minister, also served as Science, Technology and Innovation Minister and a former Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) deputy president, said that it's about time that he assists MNCF and contributes towards the sport.

Currently occupied as a DJ with popular radio station HotFM, Khairy was also recently appointed to the board of Johor Darul Ta'zim Football Club.

Commenting on the victory that he only got through by the skin of his teeth, he cheerfully said, "Fortunately, I won this election. Otherwise, it would mean that I lost all elections." On the other hand, Perak Cycling Association president Datuk Amarjit Singh gained almost a 100 per cent votes, with 71 out of 72 delegates in favour of him, making him the MNCF vice president I.

The second, third and fourth vice president's posts were taken by Putrajaya Cycling Association secretary general Mohd Saiful Abdul Jalil, Kedah Cycling Association president Dr Zaim Ahmad and Norazman Abu Samah, the son of president Datuk Abu Samah Wahab.

While incumbent deputy president Yunus Ibrahim failed to defend his post with only 26 votes against Terengganu Cycling Association deputy president Mazlan Md Jalil who raked in 45 votes, while MNCF's incumbent president since 34 years ago, Abu Samah, 86, had successfully retained his posts unopposed for another three years to come.

Last year in the 15th General Election (GE15), Khairy Jamaluddin who was Rembau member of Parliament lost when he first contested in a new constituency of Sungai Buloh.

You may also like:

Later in January, the former Umno Youth chief was sacked as a disciplinary action taken on him following his violation of the party's constitution.