'Green wave' will remain until state elections - Hadi

01 Jun 2023 02:20pm
Pas president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang
Pas president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang

KUALA TERENGGANU - Pas president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang is confident that the public's extraordinary support or the "green wave" obtained by Perikatan Nasional (PN) in the 15th General Election (GE15) is still strong and would be translated in the state elections soon.

He said he believed that the public's support for PN did not change despite states under the coalition now claiming to be under pressure by the central government.

"The performance delivered by the state government under our administration is very interesting despite facing many issues especially involving problems involving finances which have been denied.

"This has been going on for several years. However, it is fine as the people understand the issue and we can see the wave happening in GE15.

"The public (at the time) rejected other parties and supported us (PN). This wave is still present today primarily among youth voters," he said in a press conference after attending the 2023 Terengganu International Summit (TIS2023) at the Taman Tamadun Islam (TTI) Convention Hall here, today.

Hadi did not reject the possibilitiy of positive changes from the support that would be received in the state elections for the states under PN's administration.

"It was expected to involve several states including Selangor," he said.

Six states which were Selangor, Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah, Negeri Sembilan and Penang have agreed to hold state elections simultaneously despite different State Legislative Assembly dissolution dates.

Related Articles:

The state elections were expected to be held in August after the states decided to delay the State Legislative Assembly dissolution for each state in GE15 that took place in November last year.

There were several State Legislative Assemblies that would automatically be dissolved in June based on the five-year duration set by the constitution.

In GE15, PN won 73 seats with 49 seats won by Pas candidates.