DAP drops five Penang exco's for the state polls, Guan Eng, Kon Yeow remain

25 Jul 2023 08:48pm
DAP Secretary General, Anthony Loke Siew Fook - FILE PIX
DAP Secretary General, Anthony Loke Siew Fook - FILE PIX
GEORGETOWN - Five Penang Excos from DAP were dropped from the list of candidates to contest in the state polls August 12.

They are Environment and Social Welfare Exco, Phee Boon Poh; Social Development and Non-Muslim Affairs Exco, Chong Eng; Youth and Sports Exco Soon Lip Chee, Tourism and Creative Industries Exco, Yeoh Soon Hin and Deputy Chief Minister II who is also the Human Capital Development, Education, Science and Technology Exco P Ramasamy

Boon Poh is the incumbent of the Sungai Puyu seat; Chong Eng (Padang Lalang); Lip Chee (Bagan Jermal), Soon Hin (Paya Terubong) and Ramasamy (Perai).

The seats belonging to all the incumbents have been filled by new candidates except for Padang Lalang which was has been filled by Daniel Gooi Zi Sen who is the incumbent for Pengkalan Kota.

As for the Paya Terubong seat held by Soon Hin, he was replaced by former Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera, Wong Hon Wai.

Meanwhile, Boon Poh's seat was replaced by his daughter, Phee Syn Tze, Lip Chee was replaced by Chee Yeeh Keen and Ramasamy was replaced by S Sundarajoo while Daniel Gooi's seat was filled by Wong Yuee Harng.

For the Bagan Dalam seat previously held by M Satees, he is being replaced by K Kumaran, Chis Lee Chun Kit (Pulau Tikus) is replaced by Woo Sze Zeng while Seri Delima previously held by Syerleena Abdul Rashid is now being filled by Tan Hooi Peng.

Syerleena is currently a Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera.

Meanwhile,DAP retained 10 incumbents for the upcoming state polls namely Lim Guan Eng (Air Putih); Zairil Khir Johari (Tanjung Bungah); Heng Lee Lee (Beratang); Jason H'ng Mooi Lye (Jawi); Chow Kon Yeow (City Square); Lai Heng Tea (Komtar); Jagdeep Singh Deo (Datuk Keramat); Lim Siew Khim (Sungai Pinang), Oh Ah Teong (Batu Lanchang) and Joseph Ng Soon Siang (Air Itam).
Related Articles:

All the names of the candidates were announced by DAP Secretary General, Anthony Loke Siew Fook at the Penang and Kedah DAP Candidate Announcement Ceremony for the state polls at a hotel here on Tuesday.

In addition to the candidates for Penang, Anthony also announced two DAP candidates who will contest in Kedah, Teh Swee Leong for the Kota Darulaman seat and Tan Kok Yew (Derga).

In his speech, Anthony urged all candidates to work hard during campaigning and to always remain humble to ensure to victory for the party.

He said, if Pakatan Harapan (PH) wins in Penang, the future of the people in the state will be secured following the state government's cooperation with the Federal government.

"During the campaign we will present all the achievements and records that we have done so far so that the people can make an assessment. I am confident that they will continue to give us a mandate to rule Penang.

"I want all the party machinery to be united so that DAP has the strength to face any challenges.

"We must ensure that DAP's record remains with 19 seats these state polls this is our performance indicator index (KPI) since 2008 where DAP has never won less than 19 seats. We must win all 19 of these seats," he said.

He also thanked all the incumbents who were not elected to contest in the state polls for their service since 2018. In the same ceremony, Anthony announced Soon Hin as the new appointed Chairman of the Penang Port Commission.