There is no free victory for BN-PH in the Pelangai by-election

23 Aug 2023 04:15pm
Mohd Tarmizi
Mohd Tarmizi

KUANTAN - Perikatan Nasional (PN) Pahang will never give a free victory to Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Harapan (PH) in the upcoming by-election for the Pelangai State Legislative Assembly seat.

Pas State Information Chief Mohd Tarmizi Yahaya said that the coalition is prepared for the Pelangai State Legislative Assembly by-election, which will have its date set by the Election Commission (EC) soon, and believes that it can achieve an impressive outcome.

The Pahang Election Commission had received a notice of vacancy for the Pelangai state seat from the state's legislative assembly Speaker Datuk Seri Mohd Sharkar Shamsuddin on Monday.

"In our mission to secure the 18th seat, PN feels that there is an opportunity to gain Malay votes in the Pelangai by-election

"So, we won't provide an easy victory for BN-PH ; instead, PN Pahang will enter the contest and try to win this seat," he said when contacted today

Responding to the question of candidates, the Panching State Assemblyman stated that they have submitted a list of qualified candidates to the Pas Central Leadership for the final decision.

"Who the candidates are, that's a secret and it hasn't been decided by the Pas Central Leadership yet.

"However, Pas Pahang hopes that local candidates will chosen," he added.

On Monday, the EC announced that a special meeting will be held tomorrow to discuss the dates for the implementation of the Pelangai by-election in Pahang.

Related Articles:

Its Secretary Datuk Ikmalrudin Ishak, in a statement said that this was due to the unexpected vacancy of the seat following the passing of its incumbent, the late Datuk Seri Johari Harun, on August 17th.

Johari, was one of the 10 victims of the Beechcraft Model 390 (Premier 1) plane crash on the Guthrie Highway near Bandar Elmina, Shah Alam.

Johari's body was laid to rest at the Raudhatul Sakinah Phase 2 Cemetery, Gombak, Selangor, on Sunday.

The 53-year-old, who was the State Executive Councillor for Local Government, Housing, Environment, and Green Technology, was elected as the Pelangai State Assemblyman after winning the seat in the 15th General Election (GE15) last year.

He competed against four candidates and secured 7,308 votes with a majority of 4,048 votes, defeating the PN candidate, Kasim Samat; the PH candidate, Ahmed Wafiuddin Shamsuri; and the Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang) candidate, Isa Ahmad.