Dr Mahathir labels non-Malay parties as 'immigrant parties'

04 Sep 2023 12:17pm
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammed
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammed

SHAH ALAM - Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammed has given a provocative label to non-Malay political parties in the country, controversially describing them as 'immigrant parties.'

According to a report by The Star, he argued that the reluctance of non-Malays to assimilate into the Malay culture, along with the establishment of their own political parties, contributed to racial issues in the country.

"We don't see this in countries like Thailand, the Philippines, and Indonesia, where there are no political parties created for migrants.

"But in Malaysia, these immigrants live here, gain citizenship, yet still distance themselves," said the 98-year-old at an election hustings ahead of the Pulai by-election at Bakri.

Even in politics, Mahathir added, the non-Malays have formed their own parties.

"This is why there are ongoing racial issues in this country.

"It's not that we don't welcome them, but it's they who do not seem to welcome us," he claimed.

Mahathir further criticized Pakatan Harapan (PH), as being led by someone who asserted that Malaysia belongs not only to Malays but also to others.

Related Articles:

He accused said leader of wanting to give the country away to outsiders, a stance he vehemently opposed, given the Malays' historical role in exploring and opening up the peninsula.

Despite a nationwide call by the government for everyone to cease talking about matters of race, religion and the royal institution (3R), Mahathir said that he was adamant in doing the opposite.

"I will continue to talk about the 3R as it is my right to talk about such matters," he insisted.

The Pulai by-election -- due this Saturday -- was triggered following the death of its incumbent, Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub on July 23.

The bid for the parliamentary seat involved a three-way bout between PH's Suhaizan Kaiat -- former Speaker of the Johor State Legislative Assembly --, Perikatan Nasional's Zulkifli Jaafar and independent candidate, Samsudin Mohamad Fauzi.​​

More Like This