Suhaili, Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz blacklisted by PN

17 Jan 2024 12:00pm
Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (left) and Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (right).
Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (left) and Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (right).

SHAH ALAM - Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman revealed that Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal and him have been blacklisted by Perikatan Nasional (PN) from the list of MPs potentially supporting any move to bring down the unity government in the future.

The former Bersatu supreme leadership council member said he and Syed Abu Hussin have pledged not to withdraw their support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim until the end of the government's term.

He added that their commitment was conveyed to Anwar as a gesture of gratitude to the unity government which promptly fulfilled its promise to provide allocations for the development of the constituencies to opposition MPs who declared their support for him since late last year.

"I, along with Bukit Gantang (Syed Abu Hussin), have been blacklisted from any plans to topple the government by PN after this. I believe that the other three PN MPs who shifted their support to Anwar will also maintain their stance.

"I also believe that more PN MPs will shift their support to the Prime Minister in the upcoming press conference. This is because he has promptly fulfilled his promise to provide allocations for MPs for the welfare of the people.

"To me, the voters were the ones who elected me. Not the party or leader. So, there is no question of betrayal because my motive for supporting the government is solely for the benefit of the people, not personal interests," he said.

Suhaili said this in response to whether he and the other four PN MPs who switched their support to the unity government have changed their minds, following allegations that three out of the five opposition lawmakers were linked to supporting PN in the upcoming Parliament session.

Besides Suhaili and Syed Abu Hussin, the other three Bersatu MPs who declared their support for Anwar were Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang) and Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar).

Related Articles:

Previously, Syed Abu Hussin claimed that several more PN MPs will express support for Anwar soon.

However, he refused to disclose the identity of those MPs and whether they were from Pas or Bersatu.

Suhaili also questioned the commitment of PN in signing the Confidence and Supply Agreement (CSA) or Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between parties in the unity government, as previously done by Pakatan Harapan (PH) during the administration of ninth prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

He said that PN representatives attending discussions with Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof should not unreasonably set various impractical conditions if they were aware of the needs of opposition MPs who urgently required annual development allocations.

"As ordinary MPs, we are not involved in the negotiation sessions between PN representatives and the government (to discuss annual development allocations).

"However, I have received information that our representatives have put forth various unreasonable conditions, whereas government representatives have already negotiated and offered things that should be appropriate," he said.