Lumut crash: Victims' identities confirmed

The operation to recover the victims has been completed.

23 Apr 2024 05:26pm
Mohd Yusri
Mohd Yusri

LUMUT - The identities of the 10 crew members who perished in the crash of two helicopters at the Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) base here on Tuesday have been identified.

Perak police chief Datuk Seri Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri said the victims, comprising seven men and three women, were members of the Lumut and Kota Kinabalu RMN Bases.

He stressed that during the incident, all the involved crew members were participating in a training session for the 90th RMN’s Day Parade at the Lumut RMN Base, involving the HOM (M503-3) and Fennec aircraft.

"The RMN has notified the families of the victims about the incident. Complete information regarding the victims will be released through a media statement later," he said at a press conference at the Lumut RMN Base here on Tuesday.

He said the operation to recover the victims was completed by the RMN-led rescue team along with the police and fire department.

He added that, for now, investigation work was being carried out at two locations – namely the Lumut RMN Stadium and the Lumut RMN Sports Complex swimming pool.

"All the victims were taken to the Lumut Armed Forces Hospital; however, the post-mortem procedures will be conducted at the Raja Permaisuri Bainun Hospital (HRBP) in Ipoh," he said.

HOM Aircraft (M503-3) – Four crew and three passengers:

Related Articles:

1. Squadron 503 commanding officer Commander Muhammad Firdaus Ramli

2. Lieutenant Commander Wan Rezaudeen Kamal Wan Zainal Abidin

3. Lieutenant Commander Mohammad Amirulfaris Mohamad Marzukhi

4. Warrant Officer II TLR (AQM) Muhammad Faisol Tamadun

5. Warrant Officer II TNL Noorfarahimi Mohd Saedy (passenger)

6. Petty Officer TNL Noor Rahiza Anuar (passenger); and,

7. Able Seaman I JJM Joanna Felicia daughter of Rohna (passenger).

Fennec Aircraft (M502-6) – three crew:

1. Squadron 502 commanding officer Commander Muhamad Amir Mohamad

2. Lieutenant Sivasutan Thanjappan

3. Warrant Officer II TMK Mohd Shahrizan Mohd Termizi