Judges Abu Bakar, Abdul Karim take oath of office as federal court judges

13 Jun 2023 08:24pm
From left  Abu Bakar and Abdul Karim - FILE PIX
From left Abu Bakar and Abdul Karim - FILE PIX
PUTRAJAYA - Court of Appeal judges Datuk Abu Bakar Jais and Datuk Abdul Karim Abdul Jalil today took their oath of office and allegiance as Federal Court judges.

Abu Bakar, 60, and Abu Karim, 64, took the oath before Chief Justice Tun Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat in a closed-door ceremony at the Conference Hall, Palace of Justice here.

The ceremony was broadcast live on the official Malaysian Judiciary portal and on the official YouTube and Facebook channels.

Abu Bakar, who was born in Muar, Johor, and appointed as a Court of Appeal judge on Dec 5, 2019, was among five members of the panel who heard former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak's application for a review of his conviction to 12 years' imprisonment and a fine for misappropriating funds amounting to RM42 million held by SRC International Sdn Bhd.

He also led a three-judge panel for the appeal of the killing of 23 residents in a fire at the Tahfiz Darul Quran Ittifaqiyah Center in 2017.

Meanwhile, Abu Karim, who took office as a Court of Appeal judge on March 21, 2016, headed the three-judge panel for Najib's appeal regarding SRC funds.

Four High Court judges were appointed as Court of Appeal judges, namely Justices Datuk Azmi Ariffin, 62, Datuk Azhahari Kamal Ramli, 60, Datuk S.M.Komathy Suppiah, 64, and Datuk Choo Kah Sing who later took their oath of office and allegiance before Court of Appeal president Tan Sri Abang Iskandar Abang Hashim.

Ten Judicial Commissioners, including Datuk Mohd Arief Emran Arifin and Dr John Lee Kien How@Mohd Johan Lee took their oath as High Court Judges before Chief Judge of Malaya Datuk Mohamad Zabidin Mohd Diah.

The others were Nurulhuda Nur'aini Mohamad Nor, Norliza Othman, Hasbullah Adam, Datuk Seri Shamsulbahri Ibrahim, Roslan Mat Nor, Julia Ibrahim, Adlin Abdul Majid and Datuk Mohamad Abazafree Mohd Abbas.
Related Articles:

Meanwhile, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) Legal and Prosecuting Division senior director Datuk Faridz Gohim Abdullah was among six individuals who received their appointment letters as Judicial Commissioners.

The others were Mohamad Haldar Abdul Aziz, S. Indra Nehru, Roszianayati Ahmad, Yusrin Faidz Yusoff, and Moses Susayan - BERNAMA

More Like This