Kit Siang, Wan Azizah might retire from politics?

05 Oct 2022 10:31am
Lim Kit Siang and Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail
Lim Kit Siang and Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail

SHAH ALAM - Former DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang and former PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail are among the big shots from Pakatan Harapan (PH) who are likely to not contest in the 15th General Election (GE15).

It was understood that Wan Azizah refused to defend her Pandan parliamentary seat after PH president and PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim made his political comeback and became Port Dickson MP in 2018.

Lim had also expressed that he has no intentions of defending his Iskandar Puteri seat in GE15 due to age factor and that he wanted to retire completely from the political arena.

DAP national deputy chairman Gobind Singh Deo was expected to defend his Puchong seat that he won since 2008.

Meanwhile, Penang Chief Minister and DAP vice-chairman Chan Kon Yeow was expected to retain his Tanjong seat.

Former Dewan Rakyat deputy speaker and DAP vice-chairman Nga Kor Ming was expected to have no issues defending his Teluk Intan seat he won in GE14.

Former human resources minister and DAP vice-chairman M.Kulasegaran might defend his Ipoh Barat seat while former primary industries minister Teresa Kok Suh Sim will defend her Seputeh seat she had won four terms ago.

Former domestic trade and consumer affairs deputy minister Chong Chieng Jen was reported to remain in Stampin, Sarawak.

Related Articles:

Former water, land and natural resources deputy minister Tengku Zulpuri Shah Raja Puji was expected to defend his Raub seat he won in GE14.

DAP deputy secretary-general VN Sivakumar was expected to defend his Batu Gajah seat while DAP national treasurer Fong Kui Lun will retain his Bukit Bintang parliamenary seat.

Perak DAP chairman Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham would defend the Beruas seat while Su Keong Siong will remain in Kampar and Khoo Poay Tiong in Kota Melaka.

Former energy, science, technology, climate change and environment minister Yeo Bee Yin will defend her Bakri seat while Teo Nie Ching will defend her Kulai seat.

Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman Wong Kah Woh was expected to defend the Ipoh Timur seat while Lim Lip Eng will contest in the Kepong parliament they won in GE14.

RSN Rayer, Charles Anthony Santiago, Hannah Yeoh, Kasthuriraani Patto and Ramkarpal Singh were expected to defend their Jelutong, Klang, Segambut, Batu Kawan as well as Bukit Gelogor seats respectively in GE15.

Ketari state assemblyman Young Syefura Othman was prepared to contest in the Bentong seat if instructed by DAP in GE15.

Those who will not be contesting in GE15 were Tony Pua Kiam Wee and Dr Ong Kian Ming.

This followed their announcement that they were not contesting in the Damansara and Bangi seats they won in GE14.

This will give way for new faces to try their luck in the election.

It was also understood that former Bersih 2.0 chairman Marina Chin Abdullah may not defend the Petaling Jaya seat for certain reasons.