LTDL 2022: who will grab the yellow jersey?

10 Oct 2022 12:11pm
Image for illustrative purposes only - BERNAMA
Image for illustrative purposes only - BERNAMA
KUALA LUMPUR - The tussle among the cyclists to don the yellow jersey as the overall champion of Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) 2022 will be answered when the race begins its cycle from tomorrow to Oct 18.

Asia's oldest cycling tour race with a distance of 1,096.9 kilometres (km) covering eight stages is much awaited by domestic sports fans as well as local and foreign riders after the previous edition of LTdL was postponed.

The last time LTdL was held was in 2020 before it was hit by COVID-19 and all are eager to see the top-flight cycling tour which is a UCI ProSeries road race with 2.HC status.

LTdL 2022 starts with Stage 1 from Kuala Pilah to Kuala Lumpur, followed by Stage 2 (Kuala Klawang-Raub), Stage 3 (Putrajaya-Genting Highlands), Stage 4 (Sabak Bernam-Meru Raya), Stage 5 (Kuala Kangsar-Kulim), Stage 6 (Georgetown-Alor Setar), Stage 7 (Kuah-Gunung Raya) and ending with Stage 8 (Kuah-Loop Langkawi).

Despite the race’s absence, fans will remember LTdL as one with 23 acceleration zones and 19 climbing zones which promises a thrilling ride for riders and enthusiasts alike.

The participation of six World Tour teams - UAE Team Emirates (UAE), Cofidis (France), Lotto Soudal (Belgium), EF Education EasyPost (United States), Movistar (Spain) and Astana-Kazaqstan (Kazakhstan) is hotting up the atmosphere at LTdL this time.

National cycling squad head coach, Mohd Yusof Nasir, said the presence of a large number of World Tour and Pro Continental teams is the best opportunity for his boys to experience the highest level of competition.

He said it is also an opportunity for Malaysian riders to prove their ability to compete with professional riders, and gain a podium finish at any level of competition.

The three early stages of the race are the most exciting as one will witness the exchange of the yellow jersey and sprint king (green jersey) which has 12 climbing zones including the finish of Stage 3 in the Hors Category to the peak of Genting Highlands.
Related Articles:

Stage 4, 5 and 6 races are expected to end with a mass sprint of teams comprising sprint specialists while the yellow jersey and King of the Mountains (polka dot jersey) stressed more on cycling safely.

Stage 7 from Kuah to Gunung Raya is expected to provide an opportunity for the challengers of the yellow jersey and King of the Mountains to mount new attempts because there are three acceleration zones and three climbing zones including a steep climb to the top of Gunung Raya.

Stage 8 at Kuah-Loop Langkawi will be the last chance for the nearest challenger to realise the dream of being the 2022 LTdL champion with some exciting final moments expected at the finish line.

In addition to the six World Tour teams participating in the LTdL, Drone Harper-Androni Giocattoli (Italy), Uno X-Pro Cycling (Norway), Alpecin-Deceuninck (Belgium) and Burgos-BH (Spain) form four teams from the Pro Continental division.

The local professional continental teams are Terengganu Polygon Cycling Team (TSG) and Team Sapura Cycling (TSC) while Indonesia is represented by Mula Cycling Team and Roojau Cycling Team.

ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast (Australia), China Glory Continental Cycling Team (China), ProTouch (South Africa) and Kuwait Pro Cycling (Kuwait) make up the rest of the continental challenge.

Other confirmed Asian teams include the Thailand Continental Team (Thailand), Team UKYO (Japan), 7-Eleven Cliqq Air (Philippines) and the national cycling team (Malaysia). - BERNAMA