10 DAP assemblymen deny involvement in movement to oust Chow as CM

03 May 2023 07:24pm
Sinar Harian report.
Sinar Harian report.

GEORGETOWN - A total of 10 Penang DAP assemblymen have denied being involved in a movement to prevent chief minister Chow Kon Yeow from assuming the chief minister position again if Pakatan Harapan (PH) wins in the next state election.

These 10 assemblymen, who didn't hold any position in the Penang exco or even political secretary to the chief, also insisted that they had never spoken to Malaysiakini, an online newsportal, regarding an article titled 'Ada desakan dalam DAP tukar Chow, Lim kembali jadi KM P Pinang'.

The 10 assemblymen comprised of Air Putih assemblyman Lim Guan Eng; Lim Siew Khim (Sungai Pinang); Jason H'ng Mooi Lye (Jawi); Heng Lee Lee (Berapit); Joseph Ng Soon Siang (Air Itam) and Ong Ah Teong (Batu Lanchang).

In addition to Daniel Gooi Zi Sen (Pangkalan Kota); Satees Muniandy (Bagan Dalam); Syarleena Abdul Rashid (Seri Delima) and Chris Lee Chun Kit (Pulau Tikus).

In a joint statement, they claimed that the article published by the portal was malicious and unjust as it did not name the three assemblymen mentioned and was intended to raise the public's negative perception of them.

"We want to verify that we have not spoken to Malaysiakini about this article.

"It is not true, and it is wrong to link us to the article.

"We also couldn't determine where Malaysiakini got their baseless information from," they said.

Related Articles:

In the meantime, they said the party will determine the nominations for the seats and positions for the state polls and that they will respect the party's decision.

"We will give in to any attempt by irresponsible parties to divide and distract us from our objective to serve the people and ensure the future of Penang improves.

"Winning in the next state election is crucial to prospering Penang and strengthening political stability and the unity government in Putrajaya for the next five years," they added.