Malaysia to witness another monarch rotation in 48 hours

Sultan Ibrahim prepares to lead Malaysia

29 Jan 2024 12:27pm
Photo for illustration purpose only. - Photo by Bernama
Photo for illustration purpose only. - Photo by Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR - Malaysia will once again witness a very significant moment in the history of constitutional monarchy in this country with two important ceremonies taking place within the next 48 hours, highlighting the uniqueness of the rotation system of Malay monarchs which has been practised since 1957.

Tomorrow, the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah will complete his five-year reign as Head of State starting on Jan 31, 2019.

The following day, the reins of government will mark a new era under the Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar who will ascend to the federal throne as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

According to the first cycle of the rotating list since 1957, Negri Sembilan was at the top of the election list, followed by Selangor, Perlis, Terengganu, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Johor and Perak.

In 1994, this rotation began its second cycle when the Yang di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Almarhum Tuanku Ja'afar Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Abdul Rahman was installed as the 10th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Al-Sultan Abdullah and Tunku Azizah are scheduled to return to their home state of Pahang and they will depart from Istana Negara at 8 am tomorrow to Parliament Square for the ceremonial send-off.

The Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) announced that seven routes will be involved in full closure while 13 routes around the capital will be closed in stages in conjunction with the sending-off ceremony.

The royal couple is scheduled to depart for Kuantan from the Bunga Raya Complex at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) at 10 am.

Related Articles:

In the meantime, Sultan Ibrahim, who has been elected as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong through the Special 263rd Meeting of the Conference of Rulers on Oct 27, 2023, is scheduled to take the oath of office and sign the instrument of office as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong during the Special 264th Meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Balairung Seri, Istana Negara.

The ceremony will also witness the Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Shah take the oath of office as Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for five years.

Sultan Ibrahim and Permaisuri of Johor Raja Zarith Sofiah Almarhum Sultan Idris Shah are scheduled to depart from Istana Bukit Serene, Johor at 7 am to the Royal Hangar of Senai International Airport, Johor Bahru before departing to Istana Negara an hour later.

The royal couple is expected to arrive at the Royal Malaysian Air Force Base (RMAF), Subang at about 10.30 am before leaving for Istana Negara.

Sultan Ibrahim who was born on Nov 22, 1958, at Sultan Aminah Hospital, Johor Bahru, was proclaimed as the Sultan of Johor on Jan 23, 2010, after the passing of the late Sultan Iskandar and crowned on March 23, 2015. - BERNAMA